Ugly Side- Blue October


“…I only want you to see
My favorite part of me
And not my ugly side
Not my ugly side…”

Hidden deep inside our souls, trapped and kept in darkness is a part of each of us. We all have an ugly side, a demon or a tormentor that we bury. It haunts us, stalking quietly behind our façade. Some are tormented by their past, others haunted by their future. There are those paralyzed by their fears, while a few are crippled by their own actions. Each of us possesses an “ugly side” as well as a beautiful side. That is humanity, good and evil blended into one. We hope the good outweighs the bad inside of us… and we pray our beauty will outshine the dark in our heart. But that dark side does exist and we cannot deny it. We must find a way to love one another in spite of our imperfections, and our flaws. Or, love each other because of our imperfections. Appreciate the ugly side of humanity, because without it… Well, without our ugly side, our beauty would cease to matter at all.

-J

One response to “Ugly Side- Blue October

  • Courtney Cantrell

    For those of us raised in a Christian tradition, it’s a tough, gritty thing to (a) admit that we even have a dark side and then (b) let other people see it.

    Point (a) is all bound up in letting our light shine, thinking on the good and noble and true things, and fleeing even the appearance of evil, not to mention fleeing evil itself.

    Point (b) is pride. That’s all.

    It look me a long time to get past (a) — but once I did, it felt like a huge burden had been lifted from me. I finally understood what Billy Joel meant when he sang, “the only people I fear are those who never have doubts.”

    The freer I become, the warier I am of such people.

    As for (b)…well, I’m about to publish a fiction novel in which I explore the true nature of demons. I guess I’m about to out myself. So much for hiding behind pride. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

