You’re Not Alone- Saosin


“That’s just like him
To wander off in the evergreen park
Slowly searching
For any sign of the ones he used to love
He says hes got nothing left to live for
And this time I think you’ll know

Your not alone
There’s more to this I know
You can make it out
You will live to tell

She’s just like him
Spoiled rotten, confused by the lies shes been fed
Shes searching for no one (but herself)
Her eyes turn to green and she seems to be happy that she is her
And this time I think you’ll know

Your not alone
There is more to this I know
You can make it out
You will live to tell

Your not alone
There is more to this I know
You can make it out”

Hundreds, thousands, or even millions of people surround us every day. Most likely, we talk to at least one or two (if not much more). We see tall, short, fat, skinny, white, black, rich, poor… we aren’t alone. So why do we sometimes feel like we are the only ones on the entire planet? Why is it that some days it seems like scream until our lungs burst, and no one would hear a sound? Even if we’re¬†surrounded by family, friends, co workers… we still can feel as if we are alone.

Do we make ourselves feel that way? Is it a way to protect ourselves from the pain of relationships? Perhaps we alienate ourselves from the world around us. Telling ourselves that no one else can possibly understand what we have going on, or that no one would care to know. Maybe that is why we feel so alone at times.

Do other people alienate us? Is it other people, the people that we interact with every single day, cutting us out? Do they ignore us? Do they want us to feel all alone? They don’t hold doors, they don’t say good morning… maybe they hate us.

Or are we just too damn messed up to know? Maybe the that is the truth. Maybe we get so wrapped up in ourselves that we feel alone. Focus on me, me and me… and we forget to acknowledge the man sitting next to us on the bus. We worry so much about our woman leaving us, our co-worker hating us, or a stranger not smiling back that we alienate ourselves. We push away our spouse, we subconsciously avoid the people we work with, we become the stranger that doesn’t smile back. Maybe we are so screwed up that we forget. We forget to appreciate what we have, and we start living scared.

I would venture to say that we are never alone… unless we choose to be. It is a vicious cycle, but you aren’t alone. If you feel that way, there really is more to life. All we have to do is find¬†it.

- J


2 responses to “You’re Not Alone- Saosin

  • Courtney Cantrell

    I think you’ve hit the nail on the head with all three theories: We withdraw to protect ourselves from possible hurt; others truly do ignore us; and we’re so focused on ourselves that we ignore others.

    One of my favorite quotes is from Henry David Thoreau: “I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately…I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to put to rout all that was not life…”

    It’s one of my foremost guiding principles, but I still forget it more than I remember to live by it. And I forget that part of living deep is to explore with fascination the beauty of every other human I come into contact with. Because we’re all beautiful, every last one of us. Sometimes it’s simple beauty, sometimes it’s terrible beauty. But it’s always there, no matter who we are.

  • Courtney Cantrell

    Dude. I love the new design. I had a thought about how Martin Luther’s name wouldn’t fit right in your header: How about a whole blog spot dedicated to that quote — why you chose it, how it touches you, how you want it to help your blog speak to others? :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

